Dedications, Words & Their Worth

Another wedding invite made its way to my doorstep today, and guess what? It really was just another wedding card.

Not many people get married in the summer out here, owing to the humidity and heat. Whenever someone does tie the knot during such an extreme part of the year, you would expect them to make an effort to making it special.

But no. They don’t. It’s just a wedding. So it does not matter if the wedding and the myriad functions that make it up follow a generic pattern.

Call me fussy and hard-to-please, but do not tell me that a marriage can be impersonal and so completely displaced from what the bride and the groom actually want it to be.

Do not tell me

It was destiny that brought us together.

It was love that will keep us together.

is the best you can come up with on your own wedding card.

It. Is. Just. Not. Done.

When mum & dad celebrated their Silver Jubilee, my sister and I handled the invitations. We were lucky to find Joseph D’cunha of Nirmiti Arts, who by the way is an absolute gem and a certified genius, to help us out.Wedding-Quote

The words we wanted printed on the card came to me with no great effort and when Mr. D’cunha asked me to write him a rough copy, I unknowingly gave him an idea.

He handed me a pristine sheet of paper with a ruled sheet underneath and made me pen down the words in my head. He wanted to use my handwriting instead of the usual typeface!

My sister and I were gobsmacked! We had no idea such a thing could be remotely possible.

We heartily agreed to the plan and after nearly half an hour of writing with my hand held steady, I penned down one of the most memorable pieces I ever wrote.

Once upon a time…
Two young hearts met, courted
And pledged their lives to each other.

They created a beautiful home,
Where the hearth was always warm,
The food always aplenty,
And guests always welcome.

They have seen us- their daughters,
Grow from little pig-tailed girls,
To young women.

They have taught us the meaning
Of Life, Love & Family.

They spent 25 memorable years
Walking by each other
Through life’s ups & downs.

 I ended it then with the actual invitation.

Looking back, it was perhaps not the most perfectly written piece of prose on the planet, but it was special. So special, that mum and dad were touched and so were the people we invited. 

Cards that speak of love might be chucked into the bin. The words hang on though. Sometimes forever.

 Which is why I write my own cards. On a side note, it is also why I write more than I talk.  

One thought on “Dedications, Words & Their Worth

  1. Pingback: Topics about Gobsmacked » Archive » Dedications, Words & Their Worth

Leave a Reply

